Ray-Triangle intersection using Affine arithmetic

by syoyo

Ray-Triangle intersection using Affine arithmetic
Uchimura HAJIME, Kashiwagi MASAHIDE, and Kashiwagi KEIICHIRO
http://nikq.nothing.sh/backlog/junkbox/univ/tecrep.pdf

In these days, rendering algorithms are getting complex, and target models are getting dense.Those dense triangles cause precision trouble.
so I used Affine-arithmetic(AA) as a precision-proving tool for intersection calculation.

Just for those who can read Japanese 🙂
(Or if you are intersted in, let me know. I or the author will try to illustrate it in English)

I am very interested in this problem, i.e. how to do numerically robust ray-trianble intersection computation.
I think many people in production rendering and almost all practical raytracer writer are suffering from this precision problem.

Hmm. I’d like to comment it. I think it’d be much better to use gappa to formally verify their result.

