Eq 10 in ERPT paper.

by syoyo

[En]

Recently I’m carefully reading BPT, MLT and ERPT papers.
A couple of days ago I read ERPT paper intensively.

I noticed that there is a division by PI in eq. 10. I wondered why.
I checked the eq. 10 with Eric Veach’s thesis, but I coudn’t find the reason
why div by PI is needed.

Then I downloaded the ERPT paper pdf from BYU page, from which the div by
PI is disappeared in Eq. 10.

SIGGRAPH 2005 Proceedings or pdf from ACM DL has div by PI in Eq. 10.
It seems that I had been reading ERPT paper downloaded from ACM DL.

Div by PI in Eq. 10 might be mistake, but I’m wonder why the SIGGRAPH reviwer
can’t find that?…

[Ja]
ここ最近は数学的基礎からしっかりと今一度 PT, BPT, MLT, ERPT を勉強しようとしていて、
この前は ERPT 論文、

David Cline, Justin Talbot and Parris K. Egbert, “Energy Redistribution Path Tracing” ACM Transactions on Graphics 24:3 (Proceedings of ACM SIGGRAPH 2005), July 2005.
http://rivit.cs.byu.edu/a3dg/publications.php

を精読していたのですが、どうにも 式 10 の pi 割りの理由が分からない。
Eric Veach の博士論文も引っ張り出して検算したのですが、やっぱり pi がどこから来るのか
不明とうんうんと 2,3 時間うなっていました。

しょうがないのでこりゃ author にでもメールしてみっかな、と思っていたのですが、
今一度 BYU のページで落とせる pdf をチェックしたら、
式 10 から pi 割りが消えているではないですか。

SIGGRAPH 2005 の Proceedings や ACM DL から落とせるものでは、
式 10 に pi 割りがありますので、どうも(印刷して)見ていた論文は ACM DL からのものだったようです。
(興味あるレンダラ野郎はチェックしてみてください)

なぜ当時に読んだときにこの間違いに気づかなかったのだろう、というのもありますが
(単に私がまともに精読していなかっただけ…)
もう1つ疑問なのは、Proceeding に収録されるまで reviewer はこの式の間違いに
気づかなかったのかなぁ、ということ。

まあここ最近のモンテカルロベースの GI 技法は、そんなのきちんと理解できるやつは
CG 研究者でも世界ではそんなにいないんじゃないかと思うので、
そもそも reviewer がその分野に未知だったらもうどうしようもないのかもしれません。
(私も Eric Veach の博士論文というロゼッタ・ストーンがないと解読できません 🙂 )

